Lossiemouth was born from Elgin’s need of a seaport that led to three villages being combined into a single town built around a harbour dating from 1699. Today the harbour is primarily for leisure craft but the town has flourished and is deserving of its title as the Jewel of Moray.
Two stunning beaches to the East and West flank the harbour. The West is dominated by the iconic Covesea Lighthouse which is now in community ownership and set to be a major visitor attraction. The East meets the town at the River Lossie, which is crossed at historic Seatown by a wooden bridge as famous as the town itself.
Formerly one of the most important fishing ports in Scotland, tourism is now at the heart of Lossiemouth and to that end there is a massive community effort under way to unveil what is regarded as one of the Nation’s best-kept secrets.